Steve Wiens Photo


Adrenaline MMA Fighter Shannon Ludlow
April 25, 2010, 9:34 pm
Filed under: portrait | Tags: , , ,

Recently I had the opportunity to do a photoshoot at the Adrenaline Training Center in London, Ontario with the amazing Shannon Ludlow. Prince Justin Atkinson was gracious enough to set this up and also help with lighting and insight during the shoot. Shannon needed a photo for an article being written about her which gave me the chance to shoot in an octagon. I won’t lie, the idea had me salivating!

Not only did this session provide some great pics but also gave me some great lessons on environmental photography. Several factors coincided so that the first time I would actually see the facility would be at the time of the photo shoot. This would prove to be important because a) there was a lot of equipment around that was hard to avoid putting in the frame and b) there was significantly more ambient light from the many windows than I was expecting. In the end the ambient light had little effect on the photos because of the lighting setup I use but it was still a learning experience.

The shots turned out great however, and here are a few:

In almost every shot I used a Canon 5D MkII, 24-70mm 2.8 lens, 1/125th, ISO 320 and f/9. Three Photogenic 1500 heads were used with 2 strip boxes and a standard square softbox.

Thanks again to Justin and especially Shannon!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey,
Love your series, there intense! i love the first shot!

Comment by Brianna Hillier

Thanks! I’d like to say I just clicked the link through to your website and love the design. Really nice work!

Comment by stevewiensphoto




Leave a Reply

